North East India through my eyes - Meghalaya

It took me almost four years to come out of my mundane, humdrum existence and start my five months journey in the North-east of India on June 12, 2015. I always believed in a quote by English writer and philosopher Gilbert K. Chesterton - "The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees what he has come to see." After visiting many places as a tourist, I wanted to see the world through a traveller's eyes. Yes, today I travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape me.

My journey began in Meghalaya, a state in the North eastern region of India.

Living Root Bridges in Mawlynnong, Asia's cleanest village (photo: Jim Ankan Deka)
Khasi Heritage Village in Mawphlang (photo: Jim Ankan Deka)
The Sacred Forest in Mawphlang (photo: Jim Ankan Deka)
View of  the city of Shillong from the Shillong Peak (photo: Jim Ankan Deka | camera: Samsung Galaxy S4)
A view from the Nongsder village (photo: Jim Ankan Deka | camera: Samsung Galaxy S4)
Morning view in summer near Umium Lake (photo: Jim Ankan Deka | camera: Samsung Galaxy S4)

Mawphlang Sacred Forest on the way to Mawsynram (photo: Jim Ankan Deka))
Khasi Heritage Village in Mawphlang (photo: Jim Ankan Deka)
Cherrapunji in Meghalaya (photo: Jim Ankan Deka | camera: Samsung Galaxy S4)
Maple Pine Farm, Meghalaya (photo: Jim Ankan Deka)
Thadlaskein Lake near Jowai (photo: Jim Ankan Deka)
On the way to Sacred Forest in Mawphlang (photo: Jim Ankan Deka)
Cafe Umbir Resort in Meghalaya (photo: Jim Ankan Deka | camera: Samsung Galaxy S4)
Me in an Alto LXi crossing the river which connects the Mawsynram road and Maple Pine Farm (photo: Debjani Hazarika)
Madan Nonglakhiat village in Meghalaya (photo: Jim Ankan Deka | camera: Samsung Galaxy S4)
On the way to Nogsder Village in Umiam (photo: Jim Ankan Deka | camera: Samsung Galaxy S4)
Lyngkien Village, Meghalaya (photo: Jim Ankan Deka)
Nongsder Village near Umiam (photo: Jim Ankan Deka | camera: Samsung Galaxy S4)
Umtring Village (photo: Jim Ankan Deka | camera: Samsung Galaxy S4)
Umniuh Village in Meghalaya (photo: Jim Ankan Deka | camera: Samsung Galaxy S4)
.
Newer Posts Older Posts Home Page

28 comments:

  1. Thanks for giving me the useful information. I think I need it!

    - Happy Wheels
    - FNAF World
    - FNAF

    ReplyDelete
  2. Let’s keep out sites for your child! click:
    brain games | puzzle games | tetris | happy wheels | agario | abcya | fnaf 4 | super mario games
    To play for free!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Let’s keep out sites for your child! click:
    slither.io | wings.io | happy wheels | abcya | fnaf 4 to play for free!

    ReplyDelete
  4. And money. Thank God for instant loans! It is usually fast loans difficult to approach
    happy wheels | friv | girlsgogames | games2girls | happy wheels

    ReplyDelete
  5. Let’s keep are safe place to play the very best free games for kids! Please click: friv games online | friv online games | papa’s games | Juegos de deportes | Juegos 1

    ReplyDelete
  6. Score Hero é um dos excelentse jogos de futebol para telemóveis e dispositivos que usam Android de 2 ou superior. Photo Grid é um aplicativo de edição de foto, fazer colagem com muitos quadros atraentes.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Congratulations! this blog is very interesting and has information most important we invite you to visit our blog
    fireboy and watergirl
    Geometry Dash

    ReplyDelete
  8. The blog or and best that is extremely useful to keep I can share the ideas. Age Of War 2
    Big Farm | Slitherio | Tank Trouble
    Of the future as this is really what I was looking for, I am very comfortable and pleased to come here. Thank you very much.
    Happy Wheels | Goodgeme Empire | Slither.io

    ReplyDelete
  9. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Outlet http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  10. I am really sorry to learn about her demise. Though I never knew her personally, I had heard a lot about her from my friends. jugar juegos | juegos de juegos | jogo friv | y8 new games | kizi juegos

    ReplyDelete
  11. Thanks for sharing your post. Thanks to this I can understand more about the role of education. This article is easy to understand and useful. Do you like Sushi Cat 2, fancy pants 3, baixar mobogenie, Happy Wheels 4?

    ReplyDelete
  12. من المعروف ان نظافة المنازل من بين اهم الخدمات الضرورية في التنظيف والترقية بمنازلنا الى مصاف المنازل العصرية والتي عرفت تنظيفا عصريا من شانه ان يوفر لساكنته ظروفا حياتية راقية ولابد من توفر هيئة تختص في المجال مع تقديم ضمانات متكاملة من شانه ان تجعل الافراد يضمنون نجاح خدمة التنظيف ولا حاجة للمزيد من ضياع الاموال عبر طلبات خدمة نظافة المنازل التي لا تلبي حاجياتهم ولا تتماشى مع رغباتهم لأن العديد من شركات تنظيف المنازل تسعى فقط الى عرض خدماتها عبر طرق ترويجية فحسب من اجل كسب المال فقط دون مراعاة الوازع الاخلاقي والضمير المهني الذي يحتم على مدراء مثل هاته الشركات ان يسعوا خلف ارضاء العملاء ليس اكثر من هذا عبر اتقان تنظيف المنازل . شركة تنظيف شمال الرياض
    شركة تنظيف خزانات بالقصيم
    شركة مكافحة حشرات بالدمام
    شركة تنظيف بابها
    شركة تسليك مجارى بتبوك
    شركة تنظيف منازل بتبوك
    شركة تنظيف بالطائف
    شركة نقل عفش بالخرج

    ReplyDelete
  13. من المعروف ان نظافة المنازل من بين اهم الخدمات الضرورية في التنظيف والترقية بمنازلنا الى مصاف المنازل العصرية والتي عرفت تنظيفا عصريا من شانه ان يوفر لساكنته ظروفا حياتية راقية ولابد من توفر هيئة تختص في المجال مع تقديم ضمانات متكاملة من شانه ان تجعل الافراد يضمنون نجاح خدمة التنظيف ولا حاجة للمزيد من ضياع الاموال عبر طلبات خدمة نظافة المنازل التي لا تلبي حاجياتهم ولا تتماشى مع رغباتهم لأن العديد من شركات تنظيف المنازل تسعى فقط الى عرض خدماتها عبر طرق ترويجية فحسب من اجل كسب المال فقط دون مراعاة الوازع الاخلاقي والضمير المهني الذي يحتم على مدراء مثل هاته الشركات ان يسعوا خلف ارضاء العملاء ليس اكثر من هذا عبر اتقان تنظيف المنازل . شركة نقل عفش بتبوك
    شركة كشف تسربات المياه بالاحساء
    شركة تنظيف بالاحساء
    شركة مكافحة حشرات بالاحساء
    شركة مكافحة حشرات بتبوك
    شركة تنظيف مجالس بالاحساء
    شركة مكافحة حشرات بالخرج

    ReplyDelete
  14. Thanks for sharing the information. It is very useful for my future. keep sharing

    traffic rider |  tank trouble | atari breakout

    ReplyDelete
  15. I like the news that you have written in a detail.juegos kizi | juegos yepi | games friv

    ReplyDelete